Days of Defiance

dodaj artykuł
Add an audio file
Band Name Firewind
Album Name Days of Defiance
Type Album
Data wpisu 26 Październik 2010
Wydawcy Century Media
Styl muzycznyMelodic Power
Zarejestrowanych posiada ten album140


1. The Ark of Lies 04:44
2. World on Fire 04:38
3. Chariot 04:38
4. Embrace the Sun 04:05
5. The Departure 00:44
6. Heading for the Dawn 04:00
7. Broken 03:24
8. Cold as Ice 04:34
9. Kill in the Name of Love 04:27
10. SKG 05:29
11. Losing Faith 04:11
12. The Yearning 04:53
13. When All Is Said and Done 05:06
Bonustracks (Digipack Edition)
14. Wild Rose 04:25
15. Ride to the Rainbow's End 04:32
16. Breaking the Law (Judas Priest Cover) 02:38
Total playing time 52:53

Brak artykułów w języku Polskim.
Artykuły w języku angielskim są wyświetlone.
Bądź pierwszym który je doda!

Artykuł @ Dr.Feelgood

26 Październik 2010
Greek metal scene is a promised one and its ambassadors are many, but only some of them have become well-known by their achievements and the biggest example is Firewind. They are a band which is evolved in every album and as a result any new album is better than the previous one, such as Days of Defiance. Firewind have two guns, firstly, all the members are great composers and secondly their guitarist and leader Gus G. is also the guitarist of Ozzy Osbourne and the fact that they haven't separated and have recorded Days of Defiance makes them bigger and stronger than they used to be.

Firstly when you listen to the opening track ''The ark of lies'' you are shocked from the riff after the introduction till the end of the song. The pleasure goes on during the next two songs ''World on Fire'' and ''The chariot'' which are not as fast as the first, but powerful enough to keep you headbanging. The album generally combines the sound of the first days of the band with the melody and the inspiration of the last two albums. The album has its commercial songs such as ''Embrace the Sun'' which could be contained in Allegiance and the ballad ''Broken''. All their great albums contains an istrumental song and in here too, ''Skg'' in which Gus proves for one more time how big composer he is and with Bob Katsionis in keyboards are traveling us in the magic world of melody and power!

Despite the heavy-rock songs that Firewind have written, although their style is power metal and the two last songs of the album ''The yearning'' and ''When all is said and done'' are the biggest demonstration for this. All the new guitarists in power metal have as a teacher those from groups like Helloween or Blind Guardian, but Gus's talent and playing is derived by a man called Al Dimeola and you can realise that in the introduction of ''Cold as ice''.
Firewind form their begining till now have their sound and this makes them unique in power metal because the most new bands have a sound which is not theirs, but they try to be heard like the big names!

Days of Defiance contains all the previous albums together and the new clues that has are, a new drummer Michael Ehre who replaced Mark Cross and the developement in Apollo's voice who has become much better since Allegiance. Without doupt this album is so perfect that it will not be easy to stop listening to it and every day you will find out its worth!!
Firewind are heading for the top!!!

0 Komentarz

2 Like

    Musisz być użytkownikiem tej strony aby dodać komentarz

Komentarz @ JakeDaSnake

08 Październik 2011

My first time listening to this record, and I have to admit, I'm very impressed.

Firewind is a Greek power metal band featuring Gus G, the guitarist from Ozzy Osbourne. This is their latest record from 2010 and is considered by many to be one of their best. I decided to check them out because of a friend who's really into them, seeing as how I love melodic power metal. This was my impression of the album.

Basically, I loved it. It's just really put together heavy metal. Great musicianship, epic melodies, and awesome solos are all present here. I especially enjoyed the harmonizing the singer does in the choruses. Every tone is great and the album has an overall dark yet uplifting feel to it, if that's possible. Almost like a more melodic sound of Nevermore, where it's still really heavy, but it shows the lighter side of metal as well. There's also really good sections of Electric/acoustic sounding guitars here and there, adding to the overall style of the album.

Another thing I really liked is that the song writing is pretty creative. While at times it can get a bit generic and repetetive, it's mostly fresh ideas throughout, with rare instances of real bursts of greatness here and there. Again, the singer is pretty damn amazing, and I love his harmonizing and creative singing. He is really part of what really made this album enjoyable for me.

That isn't to say there aren't just a few downfalls to this album. Like I said, after a while it does get just a bit monotonous after a while, but for the most part, the songs are unique to be picked apart and enjoyed to the full extent.

Overall, a great record that is worth getting. I loved the harmonies, choruses, and overall album. Songs that I would definitley recommend are World In Fire, Embrace the Sun, Heading For The Dawn, and Broken. As for the overall score, I'd give it an 18/20.

0 Komentarz

0 Like

    Musisz być użytkownikiem tej strony aby dodać komentarz