The Impossibility of Reason

Lista de los grupos Metalcore Chimaira The Impossibility of Reason
añadir una crónica
Add an audio file
Band Name Chimaira
Album Name The Impossibility of Reason
Type Album
Data de aparición 2003
Estilo MusicalMetalcore
Miembros poseen este álbum381


Re-Issue in 2004 by Roadrunner Records as a 2-Discs Collector's Edition.
1. Cleansation
2. The Impossibility of Reason
3. Pictures in the Gold Room
4. Power Trip
5. Down Again
6. Pure Hatred
7. The Dehumanizing Process
8. Crawl
9. Stigmurder
10. Eyes of a Criminal
11. Overlooked
12. Implements of Destruction
13. Army of Me
1. Indifferent to Suffering
2. Without Moral Restraint
3. Fascination Street (The Cure Cover)
4. Let Go (Demo)
5. Pass Out of Existence (Demo)
6. Severed (Demo)
7. Forced Life (Demo)
8. Dead Inside (Demo)
9. Power Trip (Live)
10. Cleansation (Live)

Ningun artículo encontrado en Español, los artículos de la sección inglesa son fijados.
Sea el primero que añade uno

Crónica @ LeviathanIsGodofMeta

28 Mayo 2009
After Chimaira's debut full length album, Pass Out of Existance, metal fans weren't too thrilled with the band. They were generic nu-metal. That's not good. Of all the forms of metal to be in they had picked the absolute worst one, and weren't even doing anything to stand out in it. That's why, in 2003, Chimaira surprised the entire metal community by releasing The Impossibility of Reason, an great groove/thrash release. Looking back upon their discography, this album is far from the best (I'd give that title to 2007's Resurrection), but in one album's time, they improved more than any band I've ever seen.

The album's tone reminds me of Soulfly's Prophecy/Dark Ages, era; it's got its groove, its thrash, and its odd experimental bits. Now this is where it differs: Where Soulfly experiments with world music ranging from Brazil (Max Cavalera's home country) to Egypt, Chimaira experiments with clean vocals and melancholic breakdowns a la Alice in Chains. This suits the band well. Mark Hunter's voice is incredible and powerful whether he's singing or screaming, the man is spot on. Listen to the track "Pictures in the Gold Room" to understand what I'm talking about.

This album starts off with a bang, let me tell you. The first six songs on this album are pure headbanging groove/thrash with thick riffs and pounding drums. The music, though it's not the most technical, is extremely fun to listen to. This is where the album hits a snag. Right up through "Pure Hatred", an excellent, heavy slab o' thrash, the album's awesome. But once the track "The Dehumanizing Process" hits, the album kind of stutters. The track isn't bad, but it's not as good, and it really slows the album down. The next song, "Crawl", sort of tricks you into thinking "The Dehumanizing Process" was just a one-off mistake, but right after that song is over we get a three song streak of substandard tracks. This is frustrating because we know Chimaira can do better than this. The good news is that none of these four "problem" songs ever drop down into the terrible depths of nu-metal like their previous album.

Besides, after the letdown of tracks 9, 10, and 11, we get "Implements of Destruction", a thirteen minute epic masterpiece, almost as good as Metallicas epics of the 80's. So, this album isn't perfect. But it's a lot of fun to listen to even though it comes dangerously close to completely collapsing towards the end. It's also the album that got Chimaira respect in the metal world. Now that the guys have been around for ten years and they have a whole back catalogue to choose from, I'd tell beginners to check out Resurrection first. But people that already know they like Chimaira should definitely go for this. They won't be disappointed.

0 Comentario

2 Like

    Tienes que ser miembro para poder añadir un comentario