add a review/comment
Add an audio file
Band Name Chimaira
Album Name Resurrection
Type Album
Released date 06 March 2007
Produced by Jason Suecof
Music StyleMetalcore
Members owning this album460


1. Resurrection
2. Pleasure in Pain
3. Worthless
4. Six
5. No Reason to Live
6. Killing the Beast
7. The Flame
8. End it All
9. Black Heart
10. Needle
11. Empire
12. Kingdom of Heartache
13. Paralyzed

Comment @ LeviathanIsGodofMeta

31 May 2009
Due to the recent release of Chimaira's newest album, The Infection, I felt the urge to go back and listen to all their others (except for Pass Out of Existance, which I will never listen to again) and give my two cents. Well, I just finished my reviews for The Impossibility of Reason and their self-titled album, so now it's time for me to check out Resurrection once more. Resurrection was and is my favorite Chimaira album, including The Infection. It really is a creative peak for them, bringing together all that they've done in the past (save for the nu-metal of Pass Out of Existance) and connecting it in a way that really works. It still remains a groove/thrash record first and foremost, but it has traces of their doomish influences a la "Crawl" off of Impossibility, and also a generally heavier death-like sound from the entire self-titled album.

The first song on the album is the title cut, "Resurrection". Man, this track is heavy. It is plain, old-fashioned, in-your-face thrash metal with minimal clean vocals on the bridge. It is the perfect way to start the album ; they couldn't have picked a better track. This song leads directly to "Pleasure in Pain", another great thrasher with some cool, haunting melodic leads. The bridge between songs is such that you can tell they are two different songs, but it feels like one, which is the perfect way for songs on an album to flow.

0 Comment

1 Like

    You must be logged in to add a comment