Blood on Ice

add a review/comment
Add an audio file
Band Name Bathory
Album Name Blood on Ice
Type Album
Released date 27 May 1996
Produced by Stig Borje Forsberg
Recorded at Heavenshore Studio
Music StyleViking Black
Members owning this album334


1. Intro 01:46
2. Blood on Ice 05:41
3. Man of Iron 02:47
4. One Eyed Old Man 04:22
5. The Sword 04:08
6. The Stallion 05:14
7. The Woodwoman 06:17
8. The Lake 06:42
9. Gods of Thunder, of Wind and of Rain 05:42
10. The Ravens 01:09
11. The Revenge of the Blood on Ice 09:52
Total playing time 53:40

Comment @ vikingman369

18 October 2010
Bathory's back! After two mediocre albums of black and thrash metal, Quorthon decided to return to a project he had started back in the 80s! That was the "Blood on Ice" story.

It's a concept album, which each song fitting into each other and making out a story similar to the epic sagas, written solely by Quorthon himself. In the pamphlet, Quorthon states that he approached the ambient sound effects as towards those of a film rather than an album. It works, though: one can hear the panic as villagers cry for their lives during the intro, feel the snow crunch beneath the hero's feet during the acoustic "Man of Iron", hear the pounding of Dwarven hammers as the "The Sword" is being forged, almost smell the acrid boiling of the magic of "The Woodwoman", or hear the pounding of the stallion's hooves upon the ice as the hero faces the two-headed beast for "The Revenge of the Blood on Ice".

What makes this album epic? Well, let's look at the second track: "Blood on Ice". There's that epic, pounding riff with the ominous chorus overlapping it, and then Quorthon's chorused voice chanting "Cry, old crow, cry!" In the album's conclusion, "Revenge of the Blood on Ice", the riff, chorus and singing pound out the culmination of the hero's journey of vengeance ending in his climactic duel with the beast.

Once again, another album to be gotten for any Bathory/viking-metal fan!

0 Comment

0 Like

    You must be logged in to add a comment