Framing Armageddon (Something Wicked Part 1)

Список групп Thrash Heavy Iced Earth Framing Armageddon (Something Wicked Part 1)
Добавить рецензию
Add an audio file
Band Name Iced Earth
Album Name Framing Armageddon (Something Wicked Part 1)
Type Album
Дата релиза 07 Сентябрь 2007
Produced by Jim Morris
Музыкальный стильThrash Heavy
Владельцы этого альбома310


1. Overture 02:24
2. Something Wicked (Part 1) 05:02
3. Invasion 01:00
4. Motivation of Man 01:34
5. Setian Massacre 03:48
6. A Charge to Keep 04:24
7. Reflections 01:50
8. Ten Thousand Strong 03:56
9. Execution 01:27
10. Order of the Rose 04:51
11. Cataclysm 01:30
12. The Clouding 09:18
13. Infiltrate and Assimilate 03:48
14. Retribution Through the Ages 04:32
15. Something Wicked (Part 2) 02:59
16. The Domino Decree 06:36
17. Framing Armageddon 03:40
18. When Stars Collide (Born Is He) 04:17
19. The Awakening 02:01
Total playing time 1:08:57

Нет статьи, созданной на русский, показаны статьи из раздела на английском
Быть первым, чтобы добавить

Обзор @ Vinrock666

06 Июль 2008
Jon Schaffer is one of the most underrated rhythm guitarists in metal and Iced Earth's 2007 LP "Framing Armageddon" is another fine example of his musical genius.

Although there are a number of guests featured on this album, Schaffer is the main musician providing all of the rhythm / bass / acoustic parts as well as most of the lead work.

Songs like "Something Wicked", "The Domino Decree", and the excellent "Framing Armageddon" feature Schaffer at his best in this regard.

The main problem with this album perhaps lies in the concept itself : it's a metal opera of sorts aimed at the demise of mankind in a most pessimistic and depressing manner. Power metal, it can be argued, hinges more on uplifting messages and themes.
The best song "Ten Thousand Strong" rousingly thumps its chest in that vein.
It's the rest of the songs ; however, especially during the first half of the album up to the ballad-like "The Clouding", that both musically and thematically, sound repetitive and uninspiring. In fact, the interludes then become much needed breaks from this monotony of Melancholy.
The second half of the album is where almost all of the best songs are at, thus one can make an argument that at sixy-nine minutes, "Framing Armageddon" is perhaps too long for it's own good.

Still, if you love Jon Schaffer's sound and style of playing, you will definitely not be disappointed throughout this metallic trip. Ripper Owens also must be commended for his vocal work on such a monumental opus. He has definitely found his own voice on this recording as well as successfully taking on the task of evoking the proper emotions outlined in the storyline.
Between these two artists, the result of "Framing Armageddon" is a very strong and solid piece of heavy power metal.

3 Комментарии

2 Like

repkow - 06 Июль 2008: I really like the Overture of the Wicked ep, especially the re-recorded Something Wicked trilogy. Compared to the newly available re-recorded version of The Clouding with returned Matt Barlow on vocals, I find the original version of The Clouding with Tim Owens to be more passionate. Barlow's version lacks passion, like some of the cover songs he's done with Iced Earth. I find that Barlow shines most when the lyrics are about real life events or feelings and not about Jon's abstract fantasy themes.
Vinrock666 - 06 Июль 2008: I personally like Matt Barlow more, but I definitely see your point about how both singers tackle various subjects differently. When I write a review I try to stay away from comparing aspects, such as a new singer to the old, and focus instead on the present material at hand. With that being said, I agree with you.
gelal - 09 Июль 2008: Yes, I see also like Vinrock666 and the album get 9/10 points of me.
    Вы должны войти в систему, чтобы добавить комментарий