add a review/comment
Add an audio file
Band Name Korpiklaani
Album Name Karkelo
Type Album
Released date 26 June 2009
Recorded at Petrax Studios
Music StyleFolk Metal
Members owning this album363


1. Vodka 03:00
2. Erämaan Ärjyt 02:57
3. Isku Pitkästä Ilosta 04:11
4. Mettänpeiton Valtiaalle 06:41
5. Juodaan Viinaa (Hector Cover) 03:15
6. Uniaika 04:22
7. Kultanainen 06:16
8. Bring Us Pints Of Beer 02:49
9. Huppiaan Aarre 05:13
10. Vesaisen Sota 03:40
11. Sulasilmä 05:37
12. Kohmelo 03:28
Total playing time 51:29
Bonustrack Japan version
13. Kohmelo 03:28
Total playing time 55:09

Review @ Vinrock666

19 February 2010
Finnish folk metal masters Korpiklaani returns in 2009 with their highly nationalistic LP release “Karkelo”. What makes this record different and perhaps a little special is the non-sequential trilogy of drinking songs that appear here. Of the three, two of them are written and sung in English with the third being the only cover track. What seems like a departure from the typical characteristics of the rest of “Karkelo” is really a reaching out to a now broader audience in lieu of their recent success. It also helps that they are really fun songs borne out of the very barrels of alcohol the band prides in drinking from with lyrics that just scream for a good time. “Juodaan Viinaa” is the greatest of the three with a rare double – two tantalizing sing along parts found in the chorus and the introduction.

What defines Korpiklaani as a band is found on the rest of “Karkelo”. The tracks are not only sung in the native Finnish dialect, but are written as modern tunes based on old native Finnish folk. It should be noted that all of the songs are original compositions and not new versions of old arrangements. Not to be left out in the cold, an English subtext describing what each song is about is found in the pages of the accompanying inlet. It’s a great idea, really, because it keeps the songs authentic without having to compromise their integrity.

The music at its base level is two equal parts of accordion and rhythm guitar: there is no lead guitar tracks save for the rock lead intro on “Sulasilma”. Any soloing to be found comes from the accordion or fiddle. “Eramaan Arjyt” is one great example of this alternating yet constant aspect the band’s sound dynamic. As for variation, there is a mix of fast (“Isku Pitkasta Ilosta”) and slow (“Huppiaan Aarre”) tempos, but not so much from a musical standpoint. Two exceptional songs are “Mettanpeiton Valtiaalle” (featuring an acoustic guitar bookend, some fiddle, and tribal drumming) and “Kultanainen” (featuring the most prominent bass line on the album).

Regardless, the defining nature of folk is intact with these metal songs maintaining its true function of storytelling and myth building by way of singing and dancing along. Korpiklaani achieves this very, very well. Rhythm oriented, the riffs found throughout are heavy with a full bodied sound, thus also serving to keep “Karkelo” well in the range of legitimate heavy metal. No doubt, this album speaks to the natives, but for those outside of Finland, Korpiklaani’s “Karkelo” is too strong of a work not to be appreciated by the average metal fan.

0 Comment

1 Like

    You must be logged in to add a comment