add a review/comment
Add an audio file
Band Name Within Temptation
Album Name Hydra
Type Album
Released date 31 January 2014
Labels BMG Records
Music StyleSymphonic Metal
Members owning this album253


1. Let Us Burn
2. Dangerous (ft. Howard Jones)
3. And We Run (ft. Xzibit)
4. Paradise "What About Us ?" (ft. Tarja Turunen)
5. Edge of the World
6. Silver Moonlight
7. Covered by Roses
8. Dog Days
9. Tell Me Why
10. Whole World Is Watching (ft. Dave Pirner)
1. Radioactive
2. Summertime Sadness
3. Let Her Go
4. Dirty Dancer
5. And We Run
6. Silver Moonlight
7. Covered by Roses
8. Tell Me Why
Bonustracks (Japanese Release)
9. Grenade (Bruno Mars Cover)
10. The Power of Love (Frankie Goes To Hollywood Cover)

Buy this album

 $19.75  11,52 €  16,62 €  £11.96  $43.82  16,99 €  18,14 €
Spirit of Metal is reader-supported. When you buy through the links on our site we may earn an affiliate commission

Within Temptation

Review @ VesselsOfBlood

31 May 2014

Symphonic Pop Metal

Dutch metal legends Within Temptation formed in 1996 in Waddinxveen and would become one of the figureheads of the symphonic metal genre alongside others such as Nightwish, Kamelot, and Delain. Their lengthy run continues to grow with their sixth full-length album released in 2014 entitled "Hydra."

The musicianship in this album, while nothing too special, is quite good. For starters, Sharon den Adel's singing delivers its melodies very nicely. It lacks the power and boldness that other female metal vocalists have, but it carries through anyways. The guitars and drums hold their ground as well, and the symphonic effects are placed in a manner that gives the music more atmosphere and a cinematic edge. The instrumentation fares well.

The diversity of these songs is definitely something to admire about this album. While the band continues to stay true to its symphonic metal and rock roots, it manages to reach towards other types of sounds so that each track has something different to offer. Drawing influences from genres such as pop, gothic, and alternative, this album succeeds in spanning itself without losing its identity and remaining as its own sound.

Another clever aspect of "Hydra" is that this variety also works off of the guest vocalists that appear in the album. Superstar rapper Xzibit and ex-Killswitch Engage vocalist Howard Jones, respectively, help give a heavier edge to their songs "And We Run" and "Dangerous." Tarja Turunen, the former lead singer of Nightwish, contributes a gothic feel to "Paradise (What About Us?)," and Soul Asylum frontman Dave Pirner blends in with "Whole World Is Watching's" alternative rock aura. These singers all have intriguing roles to play in these tracks, and they're very well applied.

Oddly enough, despite these positive points, there doesn't seem to be enough to this album to propel it to higher levels. To be more specific, there isn't much to this album that truly stays with the listener once the album passes by. The melodies, while decent, do tend to get a bit repetitive and cheesy, and I couldn't help but feel like I have heard that type of sound on a pop radio station. It can be catchy, make no mistake, but the music isn't deep enough to grip you beyond its diversity. In short, this album is big on substance, but small on flare.

Despite that, however, "Hydra" is an overall enjoyable album from a very renowned band. The musicianship is solid, the guest singers are nice additions, and the songs are well-constructed, but the music's sense of variety is definitely the record's strongest aspect. It just doesn't really ensnare you into its atmosphere to be considered a great record. Nonetheless, chances are that newcomers will find something to like here, and chances are even greater that Within Temptation die-hards will take pleasure in it even more. "Hydra" may not be the strongest, but it's safe to say that this longtime band still has steam left.

Originally posted on: http://metaljerky.blogspot.com/


1 Like

Spike_Martin - 31 May 2014: I don't read reviews much because i like to form my own opinion without any outsiders influence, this review hits the mark pretty much except for the 5th paragraph where it says that it would not stay with the listeners once the album passes, clearly, the reviewer didn't listen to the album much or is not a big fan of WT. This album is among their best if not the best depending if you like or not the route they have taken since The Unforgiving. The songs here really sticks with you even after the album passes contrary to what the reviewer says here. Paradise, Dangerous, And We Run, Let Us Burn, Whole World is Watching, Dog Days and Edge of the World all got stuck in my head at one point or another. So i would suggest you listen and enjoy instead of trying to critic it because this album is really good now and will still be good a few years from now, in other words, "Timeless"... It's my opinion and i wanted to share and yes i may sound biased but what can i say; I'm a huge Within Temptation fan... Peace
    You must be logged in to add a comment