añadir una crónica
Add an audio file
Band Name Equilibrium (GER)
Album Name Sagas
Type Album
Data de aparición 20 Junio 2008
Estilo MusicalFolk Death
Miembros poseen este álbum335


1. Prolog auf Erden 03:38
2. Wurzelbert 04:58
3. Blut im Auge 04:44
4. Unbesiegt 06:19
5. Verrat 06:04
6. Snüffel 05:44
7. Heimwärts 02:32
8. Heiderauche 02:31
9. Die Weide und der Fluß 07:21
10. Des Sängers Fluch 08:03
11. Ruf in den Wind 04:52
12. Dämmerung 05:54
13. Mana 16:21
Total playing time 1:19:01

Ningun artículo encontrado en Español, los artículos de la sección inglesa son fijados.
Sea el primero que añade uno

Crónica @ JoeNoctus

14 Octubre 2009
I was very weary of this band considering the reputation they had for being a cheesy ripoff of better bands such as Ensiferum. I never listened to Equilibrium before this point, so I had no idea what to expect.

All I can say at this point is that all people who think these guys are a ripoff of Ensiferum are utter and complete fools. No matter what these guys influences are, this album is a masterpiece of the genre in many more ways than one.

For one, I find it brilliant how a band can utterly surprise me to the point where I believe it is impossible. I listen to melodies in there before the metal dies in thinking "How the hell will they turn this into metal?!?" and all of a sudden, bam. In comes the guitars and drums, blowing me away. The musicianship of this album is unrivaled by anything I've ever heard before. Well, maybe bands like Empyrium, but this comes close to the musical talent. Secondly, how do they write such amazing melodies? How do they create such amazing moods with nearly nothing to base it on?

I don't matter what anyone says. The melodies and musicianship on this album is brilliant. It's cheesy at parts, yes (It sounds like old french music at parts). But it's brilliantly executed and unique. Sure, it isn't for everyone, but it is certainly for me.

Another thing I love about this album is the diversity. They have pounding songs, to really emotional-melancholic ones, to calm instrumentals, and they all seem to blend together seamlessly (Not literally, but you get the point).

I don't want to go too far into this, because I'll ruin it for you. But damn, Mana. Mana is the final track on the album, which is a 16 minute long instrumental. It may be a little self-indulgent, but it had me out of my chair in awe. It's amazing, in every single possible way. There is parts on the song that are trully WTF worthy (Flute solo breakdown), but all of the other parts are.......I can't even describe it.

The other songs are just little broken up versions of Mana with vocals, which is amazing in itself. Each song ends up leaving me in awe. Especially the emotional-melancholic ones.

Do yourself a favour and listen to this album. It's long (80 friggin' minutes!), it's brilliant, and you will not regret it.

Contender for Album of the Year 2008.

2 Commntarios

4 Like

PoisonOath - 14 Octubre 2009: God job with your review, I'v known about these guys + 1 girl for a good while now and it pisses me off so bad when I bring them up or play it for some friends and NOONE knows of them. even those who call themselves the deepest of viking/celtic/folk metal heads haven't heard this before I introduce it.. And it gets the same reaction as you or I had, complete and utter awe!

Thanks duder
JoeNoctus - 14 Octubre 2009: No problem, thank you for the praise! It's a masterpiece, plain and simple.
    Tienes que ser miembro para poder añadir un comentario

Other productions from Equilibrium (GER)