The Symphony of Hope

add a review/comment
Add an audio file
Band Name Dead Silence Hides My Cries
Album Name The Symphony of Hope
Type Album
Released date 30 April 2013
Music StyleMetalcore
Members owning this album9


1. My Nightmares Turned into Reality 01:18
2. Who Are You, Mr. Brooks? 03:14
3. The Helping Hand 03:42
4. My Hard and Long Way Home 03:18
5. The Pursuit of the Dream 03:40
6. Born to Find Myself 02:20
7. John Doe 04:02
8. Unfair and Cruel Fate 03:15
9. Hate Unleashed 03:53
10. My Inspiration 03:53
11. Rest in Peace, My Friend 03:47
12. Let Me in 03:22
13. Viateo 02:30
Total playing time 42:14

Buy this album

Dead Silence Hides My Cries

Review @ VesselsOfBlood

22 June 2013

Solid Symphonic Metalcore

It’s common for modern bands to fuse the epic sounds of symphonic metal with the heaviness of metalcore, including Winds Of Plague, Make Them Suffer, and in this case, Dead Silence Hides My Cries. After forming in 2009 from Minsk, Belarus, this quartet released their debut full-length “The Wretched Symphony” in 2011, and has obtained a rather large following ever since. After being signed to Artery Recordings, a label associated with bands such as Chelsea Grin and A Bullet For Pretty Boy, the group would unleash their second full-length in 2013, “The Symphony of Hope.”

The musicianship is displayed generally well in this album, as well as the mixing. The aggressive vocals, while a little strained at times, showcase some great ferocity, while the harmonized clean singing does a great job in streaming potent melodies. The guitars help in this respect as well, and they also fare well in terms of delivering both light and heavy riffs. On top of that, the drums keep a nice, solid framework for the rest of the music. They also sound great, thanks to the production, which is also carried out very well. The mixing makes everything sound large and crisp, with each piece of the musicianship clearly playing their roles. However, at the same time, it also maintains a great sense of atmosphere to grab listeners. Both the instrumentation and production function quite well here.

Like before, Dead Silence Hides My Cries throws in our way a fusion of symphonic metal and metalcore in order to create a record that touches both the heavy and epic sides of the metal genre. All in all, this formula is executed nicely in “The Symphony of Hope,” but it does have a few shortcomings. The first problem is that the music is generic as far as melodic metalcore goes, especially in tracks such as “My Hard and Long Way Home,” though that track is still rather decent. Secondly, the tracks sometimes feel as if they have no true climax or pay-off, an example of this being “Hate Unleashed.” It has such great buildup with nice hooks thrown in the mix, but it feels as though there is no true finale. This may be because of the music’s occasional lack of dynamic shown with the unending loudness throughout some of the tracks. As a result, it can tend to get a tad repetitive and flat.

However, problems aside, there is still much to take pleasure in in this album that should nevertheless be checked out. There is a large amount of memorable hooks peppered on throughout the release, and the songs are structured very well, containing much flow. The songs are also quite distinct from each other, so each one offers something different from the last in terms of mood and sound, making way for an eventful listen. On top of that, the way the orchestral effects are placed in the music is very smart. As opposed to haphazardly slapping the synthesizer onto the tracks to try to deliver their effect, the band puts these segments at the right times to make the songs more impressive. In fact, this is best showcased in the song “Who Are You, Mr. Brooks,” which is also the most enjoyable one out of the tracklist. It has the most memorability, and it certainly brings out the best that this album has to offer. Despite the issues depicted earlier, there is plenty to like in this release.

As a follow-up record, “The Symphony of Hope” is a nice step up from the previous album. The musicianship is quite stellar, and the mixing does great in its explosiveness as well. On top of that, the symphonic metalcore itself is nothing short of solid, and there is at least a handful of moments that will grab you upon the first listen. The problems with this album, while significant and distracting, don’t actually stop this album from having any enjoyability. Fans of symphonic metal and hardcore will definitely take a liking to this very decent release.

Originally posted on:

0 Comment

0 Like

    You must be logged in to add a comment