The Styx

Add the album's lyrics
add a review/comment
Add an audio file
Band Name Low Frequencies
Album Name The Styx
Type Album
Released date 15 February 2010
Labels Self-Released
Music StyleIndustrial Electro
Members owning this album3


1. Kathe
2. Samhain
3. Destroyer 2009
4. In Space No One Can Hear You Cry
5. Lilli and Mary
6. Next Step
7. In the Depthes of Madness
8. Human Error
9. Electronic Chaos
10. Sick Sick Sick
11. The Ruby Song
12. Deeper and Deeper
13. Walk Along the Styx
14. The Styx
15. Low Frequencies

Review @ JoeNoctus

17 March 2010
This has been a very difficult one for me, reviewing something outside of your field is always rather tricky. But since I am a reviewer, getting a taste for things outside my usual spectrum is always a good idea. Hence, Low Frequencies really took my fancy. Before the CD arrived, I had no idea what to expect. Funny thing is, that even after listening several times, I still have no idea what to expect when I spin this CD. Something like Low Frequencies doesn't come every day, and this CD really has a true and honest sound of its own - which can be a blessing and a curse.

For me, it doesn't seem to be a blessing, but it is certainly an interesting set of tracks that are difficult to take in - replay value is essential with this CD. Don't expect it to sink in straight away, and you need to give this your full attention. This is quite the opposite of easy to listen to. I don't think most metalheads would generally appreciate this CD at all. It takes someone with outside genre knowledge to really get this CD to its entirety.

The only two ways I can describe Low Frequencies is a wall of sound, and the name of the band itself. The name couldn't be more appropriate to the sounds reproduced on this record. A wall of industrial, difficult to extract fuzz. Doesn't sound like a CD for you? Well, if you think that, you're probably right - this is for experts and regular listeners to the genre, and people who are really open minded to something new. It's probably one of the most difficult albums I've ever listened to, and to describe it is almost impossible - I'm honestly struggling to write this review. To the fans of Industrial Metal, I recommend you get this simply for its originality. I know for sure that there isn't another record quite like this, and the fans of this genre should certainly hear this simply to broaden their minds to what the genre is capable of.

Production is Nothing to complain about, but I think it sounds a little bit tinny and loud. But for all I know, this was intended. In which case, I have no idea what to think.

Low Frequencies is an experience that everyone should try that is a fan of the genre. I don't think this works in their favour, though. Especially if they are looking to recruit new fans. But I have a large admiration for bands that do this, bands that just use their own style and write from the Heart - with no other outside bad influences like making money and fans. It's admirable in this day and age to not try to make yourself accessible, and utilise your own style. With the sea of generic metal bands flowing in, it's nice to find a true and refreshing change to the formula - a very welcome one too. I'm not sure I really "got" the CD, but I enjoyed it's distinct and heartfelt style of its own. Similar to respecting someone for being different and unique, but not conforming to that.

When I find myself in the mood for something outside of my field, something a bit obscure (or more obscure than usual, respectively), bands like Low Frequencies definitely fill my fix. This CD wasn't what I expected when I recieved it, but it was definitely what I asked for - something refreshing. Though I don't think this CD is quite for me, I'm proud to be able to recommend it to those who will be able to get more from it than I did. Industrial fans, seek this out.

0 Comment

1 Like

    You must be logged in to add a comment

Other productions from Low Frequencies