Add the album's lyrics
add a review/comment
Add an audio file
Band Name Turbocharged
Album Name AntiXtian
Type Album
Released date 24 December 2010
Music StyleThrash Heavy
Members owning this album2


1. Intro / The Uprising
2. AntiXtian
3. Ghetto of Eden
4. Lionbait
5. Nekronobodies
6. Globalize the Blasphemy
7. The Paradise They Lost
8. Golgotha 33 A.D.
9. Species of Jesus
10. Wake Up and Smell the Christian
11. Blasphemachine
12. Horns Forever Raised
13. The New Sodom

Review @ heavymetaltribune

02 June 2011

an enjoyable release.

An album with a name like AntiXtian can only mean a couple of things: first, the lyrical themes of this album are going to be typical cheesy-as-shit anti-Christian. At the same time it won't be surprising if it makes some go "WTF?", thinking that this could be some form of a parody with the band unable (or have chosen not) to spell anti-Christian in full. It is up to Turbocharged then, to prove the listeners right or wrong.

The album opens with The Uprising, a spoken introductory track proclaiming the band's stance against Christianity in particular, letting listeners know that "...We are antichristian..." as the album begins proper with the title track AntiXtian. Don't be fooled by the slow intro riffs of the track as the band soon goes into hyper mode shortly after vocalist Ronnie "Ripper" Olsen enters with his powerful and gruff vocals, and this is simply to build up the climax and energy before unleashing it all upon the listener, with the band breaking into the catchy and fist-pumping cries of "Anti, anti-Christian!".

All throughout the album, the listeners are entertained with track after track of aggressive and energetic heavy/thrash metal. Vocalist "Ripper" Olsen spits out the lyrics with much hate and vengeance, making even cheesy lines such as "Jesus ain’t welcome in the Ghetto of Eden" on Ghetto of Eden sit comfortably in all the rage and fury all around. His crazed laughter on songs such as Nekronobodies ensure that the listener's sanity is constantly tested.

The guitar solos on the album unleashed by guitarist Old Nick while not exactly extremely technical, reek of old-school, bringing listeners back to the 80s with big haired thrash bands in their full glory (in all honesty, the guitar solos were what directed my attention to this release in the first place). The presence of only a single guitarist however meant that there was only the bass to back the guitar up during solos, leaving an almost empty feeling which could have caused some of the songs to slightly falter at times.

The raw energy, considerably short track running times, punk-ish riffs and the usage of shouted choruses on songs such as Nekronobodies and Globalize the Blasphemy mean that fans of crossover/thrash acts can also enjoy this release. Golgotha 33 A.D. in particular stands out as a track that displays such a style.

While the intentions of Turbocharged on the release of AntiXtian may not be instantly recognised based on the lyrical themes themselves (after all, there are are a couple of moments that came across as overtly cheesy and tongue-in-cheek such as on Wake Up and Smell the Christian), the band has certainly managed to turn the aforementioned stereotypes that would have been placed on them against cynics, making AntiXtian an enjoyable release.

0 Comment

0 Like

    You must be logged in to add a comment