Dead Again

Add an audio file
Band Name Type O Negative
Album Name Dead Again
Type Album
发布日期 13 三月 2007
出版公司 SPV
Roadrunner Records
音乐风格Gothic Doom


Re-Issue in 2008 by SPV.
1. Dead Again
2. Tripping a Blind Man
3. The Profits of Doom
4. September Sun
5. Halloween in Heaven
6. These Three Things
7. She Burned Me Down
8. Some Stupid Tomorrow
9. An Ode to Locksmiths
10. Hail and Farewell to Britain
Bonustracks (Re-Issue 2008)
DVD 1 (Live at Wacken 2007)
1. Anesthesia
2. Christian Woman
3. Love You to Death
4. Kill You Tonight
5. The Profit of Doom (Video)
6. September Sun (Video)
7. Interviews (15 min)

在中文中没有找到相关文章, 英语部分的文章已被显示

评阅 @ Vinrock666

08 七月 2008
"Dead Again", the 2007 release from Type O Negative, is an excellent work of gothic metal art.

Each of the ten songs can stand on their own as mini-masterpieces. They are all independent and original in relation to each other, and yet all of them share a common cohesiveness essential to the classic Type O tune.
Type O Negative's main strengh in their songwriting is making complex compositions complete with multiple movements giving each track the feel of two, three, or even four songs in one. Yet, when it comes down to the playing, all of the members employ some of the most simplistic styles and ideas.

The best song on the album, "September Sun" encompasses this apparent paradox beautifully, from the simplistic piano beginning and bass-lead verses, to the many changes in time and movement totalling nine minutes in length. The dense, green cloud which hovers low over these songs emotionally is ever apparent lyrically as well ; typical outpouring from Peter Steele. However, not all is gloom. If there is a "happy song" you have to point to "Halloween in Heaven" : not only is this track the fastest on the record, but the vision of Satan buying a Christmas tree while Jesus going out trick-or-treating is quite the lighthearted affair. It gets even merrier when Steele sounds off the "morticians" headlining a gig to be played in Heaven (you'll have to read the lyrics to find out who makes the cut on all-time, dead rock star line-up !).
Classic T.O.N. sounds are abound complete with the bass guitar providing the rhythm while the lead guitar echoing solo fills as if he's in another room.
The synth washing over most of the tracks is ever present and high on the doom-like ambiance one would expect and appreciate as well. This may sound like "Dead Again" is all about Peter Steele in the end, but if the credits are any indicator, the members are thanked by the frontman for "preserving the brotherhood".
Even though it means "yeah, this is how it's going to be - thanks for going along with it" ; Silver, Kelly, and Hickey should be thanked for contributing to the realization of Peter's world (gloomy, cold, creepy, and yet beautiful and heavy on the heart).

The end result is more than satisfying to all of the senses, making "Dead Again" a perfect creation in both style and substance.

0 评论

2 Like