logo Underoath

Biography : Underoath

Since their inception, Florida's Underoath has evolved from a run of the mill Christian metalcore band into a fluid, dynamic, and energized rock group that adeptly blends emotive melody, charged punk rock rhythm, and chunky, engaging bottom end. Underoath formed in 1998 in vocalist Dallas Taylor's bedroom. Within a year, the group -- with guitarist Tim McTague, drummer Aaron Gillespie, and keyboardist Christopher Dudley -- had inked a deal with Alabama's Takehold record label. In July of 1999, Underoath released the six-song Act Of Depression CD, which sold over 2,000 copies. The five-song Cries Of The Past followed a year later, selling over 3,000 copies. In 2002, Takehold licensed all of their bands and releases to Seattle's Tooth & Nail/Solid State label. Underoath hit the studio and recorded the ten songs that would comprise their first album under the new partnership, appropriately titled The Changing Of Times. Taylor abruptly left the group in the middle of 2003's Warped Tour, leaving distressed fans contemplating the band's uncertain future. Underoath -- which also included bassist Grant Brandell and guitarist James Smith -- continued on, however, enlisting ex-This Runs Through member Spencer Chamberlain as their new vocalist. A year later, the new lineup released They're Only Chasing Safety, and supported it on the road with bands like Thrice, The Bled, Hopesfall, and Fear Before the March of Flames. A special edition of the album was next released in fall 2005 that included four bonus tracks; touring continued with a spring 2006 headlining tour alongside Poison the Well, As Cities Burn and others. The sextet issued their next effort, Define The Great Line, in June 2006 and spent the summer on Warped's main stage. ~ Ryan J. Downey, All Music Guide

Written by Ryan J. Downey