login :
Subscribing   Pass lost ?   

Browse List: # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Browse by Genre  
Do you want to change your language ?
    English     Français     Deutsch     中文     Português     Español     русский     Polski
Grind Death Napalm Death Inside the Torn Apart
Album, Released date : June 1997 - Earache Records
Produced by : Colin Richardson
Style: Grind Death

RATING SOM : 13/20
All rates : 15/20 You must be logged to rate this album
1. Breed to Breathe
2. Birth in Regress
3. Section
4. Reflect of Conflict
5. Down in the Zero
6. Inside the Torn Apart
7. If Symptons Persist
8. Prelude
9. Indispose
10. Purist Realist
11. Lowpoint
12. The Lifeless Alarm
Bonustrack (Digipack Release)
13. Time Will Come
14. Bred Dry

modify this album  print this article
161 members owning this album Next album
add a review/comment Previous album
31 ratings 2 15/20
13 / 20
    Unicorn88, Thursday 19 April 2012 Talk to your friends  
They really did reach their low point

Napalm Death is a British gridcore band that I've enjoyed since I started getting into grindcore in the past year or so. This album, though, is their weakest release to date in my opinion.

In the category of sound, they've gotten way less heavy than in previous releases. Guitars sound more clean, vocals sound cleaner, etc. Drums, fortunately, are still extremely fast and still where they've been for ND since they came to be. But the guitars don't have the darkness that they used to and Barney actually uses clean vocals in songs like Breed to Breathe which is a turn of to most hardcore metal fan and, even though I like clean vocals(not singing) in metal sometimes, I feel that Greenway's clean vox are out of taste.

Song writing is less than what you'd expect from Napalm Death. They usually have their political issues on display, and this release is no exception. But in songs like Purist Realist and Section, the lyrics are just lazy. Highly repetitive, highly bland. They've really gotten off track from albums like FETO and Utopia Banished which are lyrically extremely intelligent and you can easily see what their talking about. This album seems like the lyric's meanings are so heavily masked in some songs that you can easily make a case that those songs are about nothing at all. At least I feel that way.

In all, I felt this album unappealing. It seems alot like their next release only that release was faster and heavier and much more appealing to fans. My favorite track of this release is Prelude. I give it 13/20. that's slightly below average in school terms and I feel like I'm being a little generous with such a high rating for this album.

0 Comment
Spirit of Metal Webzine © 2003-2017 ‘One goal, one passion - Metal.’ Contact - Links
Follow us :